Loading Events
Friday, November 8, 2024
7:30 pm

Brentano String Quartet

Evocations of Home

2312 San Gabriel St, Austin, TX 78705,

Join the Brentano String Quartet for a profound musical journey in “Evocations of Home.” This unique program draws inspiration from Ayurveda, the ancient Indian medical system, which emphasizes the harmony between one’s native state (prakriti) and current state (vikriti). Just as health is found by realigning with our original constitution, self-knowledge and the hero’s journey are deeply connected to the idea of returning home and rediscovering our origins.

This concert offers a rich tapestry of cultural, intellectual, emotional, and geographical perspectives on the concept of home. Highlights include a new work by Lei Liang, dedicated to his mentor, the esteemed composer Chou Wen-chung, celebrating the spiritual home created through artistic inspiration and mentorship. The program also features a movement by Chou Wen-chung, rooted in the artistic traditions of Chinese calligraphy and poetry, and an earlier piece by Lei Liang influenced by Mongolian music. Additionally, movements by Dvořák, Schubert, Bartók, and Monteverdi will be performed, each evoking a deep sense of place, identity, and heritage.

Together, these works explore our sense of ancestry, both literal and metaphorical, and how it shapes our understanding and emotional landscape. Experience an evening that promises to reconnect you with your origins and enrich your sense of home through the universal language of music.

Before the concert, enjoy a cultural fair centered around Asia with activities, food, and drink.

Doors, cocktail lounge, and Asian cultural fair open: 5:30 PM

Concert begins: 7:30 PM

Lounge and fair end: 11 PM

Dress code: Cocktail chic, with the option for elevated elegance


Antonín Dvořák Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 51, II. Dumka

Franz Schubert Quartet in G Major, D887, III. Scherzo

Claudio Monteverdi “Lamento della ninfa” (arr. Lei Liang)

Lei Liang “Gobi Gloria”

Béla Bartók Quartet No. 5, III. Scherzo: alla bulgarese

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Quartet No. 1, II. Andante cantabile

Alberto Ginastera Quartet No. 1, IV. Allegramente rustico

– intermission–

Chou Wen-chung Quartet No. 1, “Clouds”, III. Larghetto nostalgico

Lei LIang “Where is our home?”*

*Austin, TX Premiere

Stay in the loop

Sign up to receive updates about concert news, tickets and how to get involved.